[Spotlight] Tomb of the Overfiend [PWYW 1-page-dungeon]

Eric from the Sword & Stitchery blog posted a session rep where he made use of the PWYW 1-page-dungeon „Tomb of the Overfiend“. Curious as I am, I got myself a copy (as a free ride) to have a look. After all, the sales text says that

The adventure is also compatible with other “old school” type roleplaying games with a few small changes to some of the statistics for the encounters.

and since I have never played the weird west rpg (which it was written for), I might as well put that claim to a test.

So, what do we have in this one-page-thing? A good looking, hand-drawn map depicting an eight-room dungeon that is in the style of a tomb of ancient egypt. I say “style” here, because the ten encounter areas it features (yes, eight rooms and ten areas…there are corridors, you know?) make it clear this “tomb” (or better: prison) was build by somebody or something that has access to some weird scifi technology. Besides combat with strange monsters, the dungeon although includes traps and a puzzle, and thereby has everything a dungeon is meant to have. What the module does not come with is a plot, narative or a motivation. You have the tomb, you have the overfiend inside, you have a bit of scifi-egypt-dressing to it, but that´s it.

But, that is all it HAS to have! It is a one-page-dungeon on a pay-what-you-want basis, that comes with a charming looking hand-drawn map. It includes combat, traps, puzzles and an interesting location/scheme: everything a dungeon crawl needs. Is it easy to adapt to a different OSR game? I would say, yes it is. Don´t get me wrong, the stats I read did not made any sense to me, but the “special tricks” of each opponent and encountered are having enough of a description to figure out how to handle, unless you have no experience in being a GM.

Judging the price is tricky for me, as I am not from the US and I guess the product was originally priced in USD. But I advertise to pay for it if one is to actually put that dungeon to use. Remember, everything counts in large amounts.

[Spotlight] Tomb of the Overfiend [PWYW 1-page-dungeon]

Leave a Reply

